Project

General

Profile

Actions

bug #9587

closed

Unsaved changes are lost when trying to open a taxon a second time

Added by Katja Luther over 1 year ago. Updated over 1 year ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
New
Assignee:
Category:
taxeditor
Target version:
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
Severity:
normal
Found in Version:

Description

mail ERS:

mir passiert es beim schnellen Editieren relativ häufig, dass ich ein bereits geöffnetes Taxon, das ich gerade bearbeite, versehentlich erneut öffne (durch Klicken auf das Taxon im Baum).

In dem Fall erscheint folgende Warnung:

„Warnung - Diese Operation wird den Editor speichern. Ebenso werden alle weiteren ungespeicherten Änderungen gespeichert. Um das zu verhindern, drücken Sie ‚Abbrechen‘“.

Ich denke „ooops, das wollte ich jetzt gar nicht. Wie komme ich ohne Schaden wieder aus dem Dialog raus?“
Außerdem ist diese Warnung nicht optimal formuliert.

Jetzt habe ich drei Möglichkeiten:

„ok“, „cancel“ oder den Dialog mit dem Kreuz schließen.

Anscheinend ist es so, dass alle drei Möglichkeiten dazu führen, dass die bisher an demselben schon geöffneten Taxon gemachten Änderungen NICHT gespeichert werden und verlorengehen. Sobald dieser Warn-Dialog erscheint, weiß ich nicht, wie ich das verhindern kann- ich habe alle drei Optionen getestet, und immer gehen die Änderungen verloren.


Related issues

Related to EDIT - feature request #9339: Improve warning message if save is necessaryNewKatja Luther

Actions
Actions #1

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from New to Resolved
  • % Done changed from 0 to 50
Actions #2

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Assignee changed from Katja Luther to Andreas Müller

this is fixed, please review.

Actions #3

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

Actions #4

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

the cancel works now.

However, this is still unclear: "Diese Operation wird den Editor speichern. Ebenso werden alle weiteren ungespeicherten Änderungen gespeichert". What exactly is meant wiht "alle weiteren ungespeicherten Änderungen". Other name editors are not saved but I would expect with this warning.

Anyway, generally I do not understand why we to this at all. I would expect that opening a taxon via navigator that is already open and isDirty will simly set the focus to this editor but nothing else. Why do we need to save it explicitly. This behaviors e.g. from eclipse IDE behavior and for me is unexpected.

===

ERS: I totally agree with you. This is what I would expect too.

Actions #5

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Resolved to Feedback
  • Assignee changed from Andreas Müller to Katja Luther
Actions #6

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Resolved
  • Assignee changed from Katja Luther to Andreas Müller

Andreas Müller wrote:

the cancel works now.

However, this is still unclear: "Diese Operation wird den Editor speichern. Ebenso werden alle weiteren ungespeicherten Änderungen gespeichert". What exactly is meant wiht "alle weiteren ungespeicherten Änderungen". Other name editors are not saved but I would expect with this warning.

Anyway, generally I do not understand why we to this at all. I would expect that opening a taxon via navigator that is already open and isDirty will simly set the focus to this editor but nothing else. Why do we need to save it explicitly. This behaviors e.g. from eclipse IDE behavior and for me is unexpected.

You are right, I implemented it this way now. Please review.

Actions #7

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Resolved to Feedback
  • Assignee changed from Andreas Müller to Katja Luther

This does not seem to work if a taxon is used multiple times. E.g. if you search for "Sectest cdcfd" in rem_conf_am and open it in 1 classification and change it and then try to open it in the other classification it gets saved without warning.
This is due to the inconsistency that the name editor opens only once per taxon but at the same time is related to a taxon node not only a taxon.

As we have almost no data with shared taxa in production this is not a serious problem. However, if possible, in this very rare situation we should keep the previous warning dialogue or do something else that makes the behavior intuitive.

Actions #8

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

Andreas Müller wrote:

This does not seem to work if a taxon is used multiple times. E.g. if you search for "Sectest cdcfd" in rem_conf_am and open it in 1 classification and change it and then try to open it in the other classification it gets saved without warning.
This is due to the inconsistency that the name editor opens only once per taxon but at the same time is related to a taxon node not only a taxon.

As we have almost no data with shared taxa in production this is not a serious problem. However, if possible, in this very rare situation we should keep the previous warning dialogue or do something else that makes the behavior intuitive.

Now it is implemented for shared taxa in the way it was before and for taxa used only once only the focus is set to the selected name editor. We should improve this handling in future and open another editor window for the other taxonnode.

Actions #9

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to Resolved
  • Assignee changed from Katja Luther to Andreas Müller
Actions #10

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.25 to Release 5.23
Actions #11

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Resolved to Closed
  • Assignee changed from Andreas Müller to Katja Luther
  • % Done changed from 50 to 100

Katja Luther wrote:

Andreas Müller wrote:

This does not seem to work if a taxon is used multiple times. E.g. if you search for "Sectest cdcfd" in rem_conf_am and open it in 1 classification and change it and then try to open it in the other classification it gets saved without warning.
This is due to the inconsistency that the name editor opens only once per taxon but at the same time is related to a taxon node not only a taxon.

As we have almost no data with shared taxa in production this is not a serious problem. However, if possible, in this very rare situation we should keep the previous warning dialogue or do something else that makes the behavior intuitive.

Now it is implemented for shared taxa in the way it was before and for taxa used only once only the focus is set to the selected name editor. We should improve this handling in future and open another editor window for the other taxonnode.

Ok. This works. As reused taxa are extremely rare the solution is fully acceptable. Also we will soon merge TaxonNode and TaxonBase and then fully reusable taxa will not exist anymore anyway.

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF