Project

General

Profile

Actions

feature request #4298

open

refresh views after changing rights

Added by Andreas Müller over 7 years ago. Updated 9 months ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
New
Assignee:
Category:
taxeditor
Target version:
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Severity:
minor

Description

If a user with rights changing permission changes rights that belong to him, the views like the tree navigator should be refreshed accordingly.

This is the same behavior as changing user #3101

Actions #1

Updated by Andreas Müller almost 2 years ago

  • Tags set to security, permission
  • Description updated (diff)
  • Private changed from Yes to No
Actions #3

Updated by Andreas Müller almost 2 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Feedback
  • Target version changed from 120 to Release 5.15

Is this still an open issue?

If yes, please let discuss which milestone to put it to, as the old milestone is closed.

Actions #4

Updated by Andreas Kohlbecker over 1 year ago

  • Assignee changed from Andreas Kohlbecker to Katja Luther

I guess that this ticket has been erroneously assigned to me.

Actions #5

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

Andreas Kohlbecker wrote:

I guess that this ticket has been erroneously assigned to me.

This ticket was created 6 years ago and was part of the authorization milestone you were work on at that time.
But ofcourse we may move this now to someone else.
You are meeting anyway next week to discuss such issues.

However, someone should check if this issue is still open.

Actions #6

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.15 to Release 5.18

The description is not really clear.

Does the user itself changes his rights? Or the administrator?

Actions #7

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

No it is the user him- or herself. So in this situation some windows might be open and functionality enabled which should not be enabled.

But as this is a very rare usecase we may think about a simple solution. E.g. we could say that chaning a persons own rights will close or refresh all windows and the user will get a warning about this before the change gets effective.
By the way it might be difficult to define if someones rights are changing, e.g. if a GrantedAutority is changing or the rights a group has. So maybe the simplest solution for now is, to generally not allow open windows when any rights are changed (except for the rights management windows).

By the way the problem could also appear that someone is changing rights while someone else on another machine works on something and this person looses rights.
However, as we still do have the server side voters it will never be possible to save something that someone has no rights for.
So, the longer I tink about this, the less I think that it is really worth thinking much about this issue.

Actions #8

Updated by Katja Luther over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.18 to Release 5.19
Actions #9

Updated by Andreas Müller over 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.19 to Release 5.18
Actions #10

Updated by Katja Luther about 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.18 to Release 5.19
Actions #11

Updated by Katja Luther about 1 year ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.19 to Release 5.21
Actions #12

Updated by Andreas Müller about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Feedback to New

As the description is hopefully clear now we can put this back to "New" to avoid having it in the feedback tickets all the time.

Actions #13

Updated by Andreas Müller 11 months ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.21 to Release 5.22
Actions #14

Updated by Katja Luther 9 months ago

  • Target version changed from Release 5.22 to Release 5.30
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF